Paula Rego x O Primo Basílio

About a year ago, there was an exhibition at A Casa das Histórias named Old Meets New with works by Paula Rego. Some of these works had previously been in the gallery Marlborough Fine Arts, which often exhibits this artist’s works.

I became interested in this exhibition when I found out some of the works displayed were inspired by two novels by Eça de Queirós, one of which was “O Primo Basílio”, which I am including in my author collection.

“Breakfast” (2015) represents one of the first scenes in the narrative, set in a very hot Summer morning. I do feel this illustration is true to the writing – this image is not that different from what I pictured when reading – and, for that, I quite like it.

In fact, I do think Paula Rego captured the essence of the narrative very well with these images, and particularly the personality of the main character, Luísa (the blonde woman).

Leave a Reply

