Analogous Structures

Even though I was planning on making drawings at first, I soon became uninspired. I wanted to try something I had never done for a project.

The idea of making a children’s book did not seem as exciting as I had thought; and the theme – gentrification – was asking for a more serious way of conveying a message. After looking at David Hockney’s polaroids and Christine Erhard’s collages, I decided I wanted to experiment with photography, rather than using illustration once more.

As a result of changing my mind, I had to ‘re-write’ my narrative. The presence of my original main character seemed pointless now. What I wanted was to tell a story of gentrification, of transformation, from the perspective of the most obvious ‘victims’ – not the humans, the buildings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

