Book Covers & Picture Books

The publication I’m doing for this Catalyst project is, essentially, a picture book – meaning the only text I’m allowed to have in the book is the title and my name. For this reason, I thought I should perhaps look into children’s books and understand how the stories that we know so well are being told without a single word, only through images.

I created a folder in which I would save the interesting pins I’d find on Pinterest. You can click the video below to watch me navigate through the folder and zoom in on some of the pins.

Another concern of mine was the book cover. I began searching for book covers that might be related to my own story’s theme. I did find a few; however, I realised it was more helpful to study and understand how artists have designed the covers of the classic books I’ve read. Since I know the stories, I could easily recognise what elements of the narrative they had decided to include in the cover.

I found it interesting how I was able to find very different book covers for the same stories. ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ are probably two of the best examples for this. The colour schemes, in particular, were very different from one book cover to another. Obviously, they all had something in common – in ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, all covers had a mockingbird represented in some way; and, in ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland’, most covers had something which allured to the falling through the rabbit hole.

Leave a Reply

